Collaborative Editing

Les wikis dans la presse by Christophe Duchamp

Les wikis dans la presse by Christophe Duchamp

This week we are going to spend part of the first hour exploring a variety of wikis to get a sense of their possible uses. We’ll then set to work on our course wiki and I thought we could use Diigo to collect and annotate our resources for our collaborative work.

I’m interested to hear what your thoughts are on our readings this week. Do you see any possibilities for your teaching and scholarship? Any concerns? Questions?

10 Responses to “Collaborative Editing”

  1. jessiemcbride Says:

    I really appreciated Carrie Windham’s article“Reflecting, Writing and Responding:Reasons Students Blog,” because I’ve just started a blog with my literature class to replace our Web 1.0 HuskyCT page. Her fist-hand account of starting her own blog is an appropriate intro into a discussion of a blog’s place in the classroom, b/c even if it’s used for educational purposes, blogs still seem to be inherently personal in some way. As an instructor, it was helpful to hear exactly what students’ fears, likes, and dislikes were with the blogs they used in the classroom, and also to hear how the different instructors implemented them to better reach students. I’ll keep you posted on the progress of my class’ blog!
    Also, I am really interested in the idea of using wikis for group projects. It seems to be a good way for students to be free to work together, but with the accountability of knowing that not only will their work be seen in a venue larger than the classroom, but also of realizing that the amount of work each student puts in will be clearly visible to the instrctor and other team members. Plus, it allows for more focused work by both the student and instructor (as outlined by Stewart Mader in “The Power of Wikis in Higher Ed”) b/c both become exempt from tedious busy work. Excited to learn more!

  2. nmcclure17 Says:

    I found the discussion surrounding collaborative editing to be really interesting. The scenario discussed in the Educause article “7 Things You Should Know About Collaborative Editing” seems to be there to cause shock and awe to the traditional educator, but I found it to be very cool. I just read a column about note-taking services in the Chronicle of Higher Education (“Cashing in on Class Notes”) and people were outraged that students didn’t have to take notes themselves. I say, why not? If this becomes an effective tool for students to use and therefore learn more, then why should we deny simply because it’s not what we’re used to? Understandably, the note-taking for money business is not exactly the same as a wiki, but the end goal is similar – we want our students to learn the material. Does it really matter who writes the notes or if they discussed the process virtually? I don’t think so. We have accepted that people have unique learning styles so why not accept the tools that accompany these styles too?
    I am planning on instituting a wiki in my class this semester for a research project. I’ll keep you posted on how that goes…I do already have a course blog in place and it’s going pretty well. My students do a substantial amount of reading and journaling in response to the reading so I thought the blog would be a great opportunity to connect them outside of the classroom. They don’t do their reading inside of the classroom so I wanted to create a space for them to respond as they were actually reading. It’s gone fairly well so far, but I think it could be used more effectively. I have never blogged before nor (surprisingly!?!) have my students so the idea of professing our arguments in this way is a little awkward. They have requested that I provide a few prompts each week, which I started this week, and I think this may help. Again, this is actually a pedagogical problem – I simply didn’t give enough guidance in terms of structuring their assignment – not a web 2.0 drawback.
    I do notice that they don’t tend to comment on each other as much as I’d like them to. Any suggestions?

  3. jessiemcbride Says:

    I agree with Nicole’s stance on note-taking collaboratively…it may not be traditional, but sometimes traditional isn’t always the most effective way to learn.
    Also, I’m having the same issue with my blog (students not really addressing comments made in other people’s posts), and so it’s seeming for right now kind of like blackboard but in blog format. Suggestions DEFINITELY welcome!

  4. Barbara Says:

    Nicole and Jessie,

    I’m glad you had the chance to try out a tool with your students already and appreciate very much your openness in sharing some of your struggles and your insights into the core issue, which is a pedagogical one. This is a discussion that will serve us well, regardless of the course, content or tool used.

    One idea that comes to mind is to provide your students with:

    a) a rubric of what you expect to see in student postings [one such example is the rubric we have for our course blog] or see these suggested rubrics from Bowling Green State University’s Center for Teaching Learning and Technology.

    b) examples of excellent, good, fair and unacceptable posts and then ask them, as a group, to identify which posts belong to which category and why.

    Anyone have additional suggestions to share?

  5. berthet Says:

    I found the article 7 Things You Should Know About Collaborative Editing quite interesting too. The first, thing that strikes me is the fact that students can listen to a lecturer, take notes, while they are editing and exchanging messages with classmates. I don’t think I can personally do that but this shows that is certainly a different generation with new abilities. More importantly, I like the fact that it could be used in a variety of learning environments and projects. I am thinking if I could apply it in my writing class… It could be an interesting exercise to use it in creative writing. Can we create a short story all together? Can we start with a story of a famous writer and then change it into another story or may be different stories? These are questions that I would like to discuss either here or during the class today.

    I also appreciate the opennes of Nicole and Jessie about their experience with the class blogs. I am thinking about starting one of my own and this helps me to understand that it doesn’t have to work perfectly at the beginning. These are all new technologies and the only way to learn them is to use them.

  6. wessam Says:

    I found both articles, 7 things you should know about blogs and 7 things you should know about collaborative editing very well presented. For some reason I compared these two articles to Web 1.0 and Web 2.0. I felt that a blog is an advanced edition of Web 1.0 in the sense that this kind of web has a Webmaster who is responsible for updating, informing, and engaging other participants. For blog, it is a more personal online journal to capture thoughts and comments to post public websites for others to interact. However, bloggers can still receive feedback, linking, and comments. I think both blogs and web 1.0 share some disadvantages like the possibility of including biased or inaccurate information. Blog is a bit advanced though because bloggers have the space to edit or delete posts, which is considered a step forward towards the full interaction. On the other hand, collaborative editing and wikis are examples of web2.0 as multiple users can change, edit, add, or delete simultaneously and collaboratively a paper or a document. Moreover, it can be used in projects in classroom where teacher assign group work or any multiple tasking activities. In that case everyone would participate and have more space to express themselves.

  7. wltung Says:

    After reading the article of “7 Things You should Know about Blogs”, I found some interesting points. According to the articles, there are many advantages of blogs: it is easy to maintain and to create– an ideal place for discussions among the Internet community, a powerful tool of collaborative filtering. They are the places for individuals to express their ideas, opinions and attitudes and get responses and comments from visitors. Yet there are still some shortcomings. First, since blogs are unmediated and maintained by individuals, they may include biased or inaccurate information. In addition, the transient nature makes blogs difficult to archive or index. Also the time-limited relationship of student to institutions cause students who once graduated need to remove posts from the blogosphere. Then, as I saw the clip about “Wikis in plain English” by Lee and Sachi, I found it is a useful and powerful web tool to make up the disadvantages of blogs. Wiki serves as a collaborative tool not only for individuals but group in teaching, research, or administration. So, I am wondering if we can combine the two collaborative tools together.

  8. wltung Says:

    This week I mentioned to my students that I have already writtten some articles to introduce Chinese culture and would like to share with them. Most of them expressed they hope to read and share ideas. I am glad they like to learn more related to their subject after class. Actually we do not have much time in class due to we have lots of teaching materials, yet we can apply the collaborative tools to help us to convey more interesting knowledge and ideas related to the teaching subject and also get to know what students’ ideas about. To know the situation of students’ learning and to make the class more inteserting enough to motivate them to learn is very important to a teacher. The students even mentioned that we can have a space for all the students in Chinese classes to get involved in, which just match to the idea of our Web course. What’s better, I found we can also try to establish a group working by “wiki”. Most students agree and are willing to get some benefits for learning a subject by applying the collaborative web tool. So, I hope I can gradually get the work done, and then observe what interesting thing will happen during the process.

  9. Barbara Says:

    I noticed that both Wessam and Wen-ling mentioned a concern with possible biases inherent in blog posts. For the most part blogs serve as a forum to share perspectives and insights, to pose questions, to challenge thinking. If that is the case, how could they be used in our teaching and learning–either ones we and our students create or ones others have created? And is it possible that wikis, too, could have inherent biases? How has wikipedia addressed that issue, for example? What do others think about the questions posed by Wessam and Wen-ling?

  10. wltung Says:

    Here I would like to clarify that the points I mentioned last time about there may be some possible biases inheret in blog posts, which I have learned from the article of “7 Things You Should Know about Blog.” During that week, I only have little knowledge about “blog”, so I learn and quot the points according to the article I read. Yet now, after a couple weeks learnig and discussion in class, I have got more knowledge that most blogs, like wikipedia serves as a forum, some professional people share their perspectives and discuss problems. Therefore, the biases or incorrect information will not possible exist.


Leave a Reply

